Aged to perfection

IMG_8378.jpg
Photo by me

What is there to do on Cape Cod when it’s not a beach day?  Go to open houses of course! (Weekends only)

This might not be everyone’s idea of a good time but when you love houses as much as I do, particularly old ones, there’s nothing more appealing.  It’s like diving into the pages of a shelter magazine to see everything up close.

Unfortunately for me, the house above is not on the market so I didn’t get to tour it.  It’s just one of my favorites.

I did see two antique Captain’s houses recently though, both from the same era.  The first was a grand old one built in 1839 that’s on the National Register of Historic Places.  With eight bedrooms, seven baths and three stories, it was a lot of house with enormous potential but it was in need of a complete renovation.

The second was a smaller Captain’s house from 1840 that was recently meticulously renovated and updated. I really love seeing old houses like this one that have been so carefully modernized and thoughtfully preserved.  They give me lots of ideas for our antique house.  It’s the quirks in an old house that get me.

Like this super steep staircase as you enter the front door.

Staircase.jpg
Photo by me

On one side of the staircase was the living room and on the other was one of my favorite spots in the house, this pretty little sitting room.

Sitting room.jpg
Photo by me

Which led into a beautiful dining room.

Dining room.jpg
Photo by me

Which led into this gorgeous kitchen.

Kitchen 2.jpg
Photo by me

There was a huge master bedroom on the first floor with this knockout en suite.  I love the mix of the modern fixtures and the old plank walls.

downstairs bathroom.jpg

I would probably use the first floor bedroom to make an amazing bunk room. It could easily fit four or five twin beds.

Upstairs, there are three more good-sized bedrooms, all lovely and bright.

One of my favorite spots in the house was the upstairs hallway.  It had beautiful built-ins and was was wide enough to fit a couple of chairs.  The light was incredible thanks to a huge skylight.  It would make a great reading nook or hang-out area for kids.

upstairs hallway.jpg
via

Those floors though.  Full of flaws but pure perfection.  To say that houses aren’t built like this anymore is an understatement.

Upstairs hallway 2.jpg
Photo by me

And, as if all that goodness inside the house wasn’t enough, it comes with a barn!  And a handsomely landscaped yard.

Back yard.jpg
via

I’d be quite happy with just the barn.  The bottom floor has a garage and two rooms.  One could be used as a workshop or gardening area.  The back room has a ping pong table and stairs leading up to two big loft spaces.

barn loft.jpg

There’s even a beautiful 3/4 bathroom to complete it.

This is really a spectacular renovation.  It was so tastefully done. The family that snags this house will be very lucky!!

 

 

One thought on “Aged to perfection

Leave a Reply

