My new coffee table

AKA an early Christmas present to myself.

IMG_0286 (1).jpg
Photo by me

When it comes to finding furniture, sometimes I live with a “filler” until the perfect piece comes along and sometimes I just wait it out.

I’ve been waiting it out for a new coffee table.  I redecorated our living room in Paris a few years ago and changed a couple of big ticket items. One was our couch because my beloved rolled arm Conran Shop one had finally bitten the dust after too many running leap belly-flops by my boys.  I had no trouble deciding on a replacement but finding the perfect coffee table to go in front of it has stumped me.

For everyday use, we’ve been using a big rectangular ottoman, but its down-filled cushion, while comfy for lounging and watching tv, is too squishy to hold drinks and snacks.  Whenever we have guests over, I just move it out of the way and place a couple of smaller tables in front of the couch.

Our living room has four sets of French doors and we cross through it constantly so I didn’t want a giant rectangular table intersecting it. I decided that our square living room needed a round coffee table.

Well, I finally found the perfect one. It was delivered a couple of weeks ago and I am in love.  I discovered it just in time too because it’s been discontinued!

IMG_0164 (2).jpg
Photo by me

It came from Flamant on the beautiful Place de Furstenberg in the 6th arrondissement.

Place de Furstenberg.jpg
Photo by me

This is the type of interiors store that I could easily live in.  It’s full of beautifully made antique reproductions along with Belgian Modern and Gustavian designs.  Think lovely linens, supple leather, warm woods and patina galore. There isn’t a thing in it I don’t like. It’s a shame their website and online catalogue aren’t more Pinterest worthy.  I’m always frustrated when websites don’t make it easy to save a pretty image.

My coffee table is exactly like the one below from Restoration Hardware.

Martens coffee table.jpeg

The RH table was featured in the September 2016 issue of House Beautiful and I believe I spotted it in Lauren Liess’s beautiful book Habitat The Field Guide to Decorating.

I nabbed this beautiful vintage round wicker tray a LONG time ago at a flea market in the hopes of one day finding the perfect round table on which to place it.

Wicker tray.jpg

It’s now holding magazines on the lower shelf of my coffee table.

 

One thought on “My new coffee table

Leave a Reply

